Tuesday, December 6, 2022
HomeSportsAsian Chess Championship: India's R Praggnanandhaa, P V Nandhidhaa Win Titles

Asian Chess Championship: India’s R Praggnanandhaa, P V Nandhidhaa Win Titles

Prime-seeded Indian Grandmaster R Praggnanandhaa and compatriot P V Nandhidhaa received the titles within the Open and ladies’s sections respectively within the Asian Continental Chess championship, in New Delhi on Thursday. Praggnanandhaa drew with compatriot B Adhiban in a 63-move sport within the ninth and ultimate spherical to emerge clear winner with seven factors. The 17-year-old Chennai participant had gone into the ultimate spherical with half a degree lead over the remainder of the sector. He held off the problem from the skilled Adhiban and shared honours to win the highest prize.

The triumph additionally earned Praggnanandhaa a ticket to the following FIDE World Cup.

S L Narayanan, Harsha Bharathakoti, Karthik Venkataraman and Shamsiddin Vokhidov, the opposite gamers who had an out of doors probability of a shot on the title, missed out after drawn video games.

Whereas Narayanan and Vokhidov settled for a draw, Bharathakoti and Venkatarman needed to be content material with a half a degree every after their sport resulted in stalemate.

GM S P Sethuraman defeated IM Koustav Chatterjee in 41 strikes to affix 5 others on 6.5 factors.

Harsha Bharathakoti took the second spot on the idea of a greater tie-break rating whereas Adhiban was third.

Narayanan, Vokhidov, Sethuraman and Venkataraman completed fourth to seventh respectively.

Within the girls’s occasion, WGM Nandhidhaa drew her ninth spherical match in opposition to Divya Deshmukh to complete with 7.5 factors. The 26-year previous Tamil Nadu participant remained unbeaten by way of the 9 rounds and received six video games.

Priyanka Nutakki, Divya Deshmukh and Thi Kim Phung Vo (Vietnam) completed equal on 6.5 factors however Nutakki took second place on the idea of a greater tie-break. Deshmukh completed third and Vo was positioned fourth.

Ultimate placings: Open: 1. R Praggnanandhaa 7 factors, 2. Harsha Bharathakoti 6.5, 3. B Adhiban 6.5, 4. S L Narayanan 6.5, 5. Shamsiddin Vokhidov 6.5, 6. S P Sethuraman 6.5, 7. Karthik Venkataraman 6.5, 8. M Pranesh 6, 9. Viani Antonio D’cunha, 10. Pranav Anand 6, 11. M Shyam Sundar 6, 12. Abhimanyu Puranik 6, 13. Aravindh Chithambaram 6, 14, N R Vignesh 5.5, 15. Koustav Chatterjee 5.5.


Girls: 1. P V Nandhidhaa 7.5 factors, 2. Priyanka Nutakki 6.5, 3. Divya Deshmukh 6.5, 4. Thi Kim Phung Vo 6.5, 5. Liya Kurmangaliyeva 6, 6. Thi Mai Hug Nguyen 6, 7. Padmini Rout 6, 8. Aakanksha Hagawane 5.5, 9. Nisha Mohota 5.5, 10. Vantika Agrawal 5.5, 11. Mary Ann Gomes 5.5, 12. Amina Kairbekova 5.5, 13. Eesha Karavade 5.5, 14. D Nomin-Erdenne 5.5, 15. Kiran Manisha Mohanty 5.

(This story has not been edited by NDTV workers and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Matters talked about on this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Stay Connected With Us !

Sign Up today and stay connected with Techmindx for more.